Google Play App
iTunes App
facebook twitter

Storm release training camp roster

The Tri-City Storm has officially released its training camp roster.

The club's training camp roster features 30 players and eleven returning players who hope to qualify for the Opening Night 23-man roster September 25, 2015 at the Viaero Event Center against the Omaha Lancers.

Head Coach Bill Muckalt begins his first season at helm, joined by first-year assistants Ben Gordon and Taylor Nelson. Muckalt took over for former Storm head man Jim Hulton this offseason.

Four of the Storm's returning players are defenseman – Jack McNeely, Tory Dello, Jason Krych, and Mattias Goransson. Goransson finished with 28 points last season and is the club's leading returning blue-line scorer. Dello begins his fourth season with the club.

Jake Wahlin is the Storm's leading returning scorer, finishing fifth on the team with 15 goals and 41 points in 59 games. The St. Cloud State commit joins sixteen other forwards looking to offset the loss of last year's leading scorer Chris Wilkie.

In net, four new faces – Jake Kielly, Matthew Greenfield, Michael Latorella, and Justin Kapelmaster – have the chance to replace the duo of Alec Dillon and Jared Rutledge.

The Storm qualified for the Clark Cup Playoffs in 2014-15 as the second seed in the USHL's Western Conference after finishing the regular season 37-17-6, good for 80 points. The team advanced to the second round before falling to Sioux Falls in the Western Conference Finals, the Storm's first trip to the Conference Finals since 2005.

Find the full training camp roster below. Full practices for Storm training camp begin Friday, August 28 and continue through Monday, August 31.

Training Camp Roster

Goaltenders (4)
#1 Jake Kielly – Eden Prairie, MN
#30 Matthew Greenfield – Parkland, FL
#31 Michael Latorella – Macomb, MI
#35 Justin Kapelmaster – Coral Springs, FL

Defensemen (9)
#2 Jack McNeely – Lakeville, MN
#3 Tory Dello – Crystal Lake, IL
#4 Jason Krych – Champlin, MN
#5 John Marino – Brockton, MA
#6 Shawn Brennan – Delaware, OH
#8 Joey Matthews – Columbia, IL
#23 Andrew Peski – Orleans, ON, CAN
#27 James Gobetz – St. James, NY
#28 Mattias Goransson – Grums, Sweden

Forwards (17)
#7 Austen Long – Blaine, MN
#9 Nolan Aibel – Brookville, NY
#10 Justin Dixson – Sunnyvale, CA
#11 Aaron O'Neill – Franklin, TN
#14 Monte Graham – Hanover, MA
#15 Dakota Boutin – Moosomin, SK, CAN
#16 Bobby Kaiser – Grosse Pointe Park, MI
#17 Nico Strum – Augsburg, Germany
#18 Carson Meyer – Powell, OH
#19 Wade Allison – Myrtle, MB, CAN
#20 Jake Wahlin – St. Paul, MN
#21 Sam Sternschein – Syosset, NY
#22 Brendan Miller – North Tonawanda, NY
#24 Dan Labosky – Edina, MN
#25 Brian Hawkinson – Aurora, CO
#26 Alex Limoges – Winchester, VA
#29 Evgeny Yakolev – Moscow, Russia

Loper Men Selected to Win MIAA

The Nebraska-Kearney cross country teams are picked first (men) and sixth (women) in the 2015 MIAA preseason polls.

The men tallied 58 points and six first place votes to place just ahead of Pittsburg State (52), Missouri Southern State (47; one first place) and Fort Hays State (45; one first place) in a nine-team race.

Last fall, UNK was nationally ranked for multiple weeks, finished runner up at the MIAA Championships and fell just short of qualifying for the NCAA Championships.

Head coach Brady Bonsall returns the majority of that squad but top runner Bryan Hill graduated. A large roster features five seniors, including track All-American Cole Wellnitz (Rushville) and team captain Alex Obermier (York), and 2014 All-Region selection Jahn Landrigan (Broken Bow), UNK's only junior.

A young women's squad tallied 54 points to come in ahead of five others. Missouri Southern and Southwest Baptist each tallied 94 points to tie for first with MSSU having six first place votes and SBU grabbing the other five.

UNK was eighth at the MIAA's last fall.

The Lopers have only two upperclassmen on its roster, including 2014 All-Region runner Morgan Benesch (Columbus). Freshmen Melissa Davison (Auburn), Gabby Gracia (Holdrege) and Shelbi Sloup (Seward) all redshirted last fall but had successful track seasons.

UNK begins the regular season on Friday, September 4th at NW Missouri State.

MIAA Preseason Golf Poll

The Nebraska-Kearney golf teams are picked fourth (women) and eighth (men) in the 2015 MIAA preseason polls.

To hear head coach Wes Bernt's comments about the Loper men, go HERE. For head coach Brett Mayo's comments on the UNK women's season, go HERE.

The women tallied 52 points to trail Central Oklahoma (78; seven first place votes), Northeastern State (75; three first place) and Lindenwood (65).

UNK was one point ahead of Missouri Western State and had eight more than Central Missouri. This past May, the Lopers finished fourth out of 10 schools at the MIAA Championships.

Kearney returns the majority of that squad, including two-time regional qualifier Ana Summers (Bellevue, Colo.), senior Katelyn Haschke (Sioux Falls, SD) and junior Katherine Kemp (Colo. Springs, Colo.).

On the men's side, UNK totaled 42 points to come in ahead of Lincoln, Fort Hays State and Southwest Baptist. Central Missouri (98; eight first place) and Central Oklahoma (93; three first place) rank first and second, respectively.

The Lopers also have a veteran squad in 2015-16, led by seniors Brad Holmes (Burlington, Ontario, Canada), Konnor Oltman (Norris H.S.) and Max Rudder (Norris H.S.). The team also boasts four juniors and four sophomores, many of whom have played in a varsity tournament.

The men began their season September 14th at the MSSU Fall Invitational in Joplin, Mo., while the women tee things off September 8th at the Central Regional Preview in Olathe, Kan.

Platte River Radio ESPN Superstation Logo KKPR Logo KLIQ Logo Hastings Link Logo Platte River Preps Logo

As per Federal Communications Commission Regulations following is certified: Platte River Radio Inc. does not discriminate in the sale of commercial time, and will not accept advertising which, in its sole opinion, is purchased with intent to discriminate unlawfully on the basis of race, gender, or ethnicity. The advertiser hereby certifies that its purchase of commercial time is not made for an unlawful discriminatory purpose, including specifically that it is not based upon a decision to place advertising on a station on the basis of race, gender, or ethnicity.